Poe Park

This will be a short post, and a lesson in doing your research in advance.

Edgar Allan Poe lived the last years of his life in a cottage in Fordham, New York — now a neighborhood of the Bronx. Though Poe himself in fact died in Baltimore, the cottage was still his primary home at that time, and his wife Virginia did die in the Fordham cottage. It was subsequently moved and the land around it became Poe Park.

I got out of work early on a Friday afternoon and thought I’d pop up to the Bronx to check it out. However, I didn’t think to check the house’s hours… which go only until 3 PM on Thursday and Friday. Oops!

I did take a quick stroll around the park, and was able to take a photo of the house (above) from afar. But I can’t quite check this one off my to-visit list yet.

dsc_1435-ll

-Ellen

Location: Poe Park: Grand Concourse between E 92nd St and E Kingsbridge Rd (the Cottage is at the north end)
Nearest Public Transit: B/D at Kingsbridge Rd; 4 at Kingsbridge Rd
Cost: Free entrance to the park; the Cottage is $5 for adults, $3 for students, seniors, and children
Website

