Nikola Tesla Corner (Bryant Park)

The first time I noticed the sign at the intersection of Avenue of the Americas (Sixth Avenue) and West 40th Street designating it as “Nikola Tesla Corner,” I had just recently seen The Prestige and the image of David Bowie as Nikola Tesla was fresh in my mind. Now, whenever I pass it, I think of Bowie and that movie.

Tesla reportedly fed pigeons in Bryant Park while he was living in New York, towards the end of his life. I found that out on the internet, though — there’s no plaque or other explanation near the sign. I wonder how many passersby see it and are perplexed and pleased as I was.

dsc_8346-ll

Bryant Park is worth a visit on its own merits… but that’s a subject for another post!

dsc_8351-ll

Ellen


Location: 6th Avenue and W 40th Street; signs are on both north corners of the block
Nearest Subway: B/D/F/M/7 to 42 St – Bryant Park; 1/2/3/N/Q/R to Times Sq – 42 St.
Estimated Timespan: This is just a walk-by. 2 minutes on your way into Bryant Park.
Cost: Free!

